April 2, 2016

What is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, or vortex, and it refers to each of the seven energy centers of which our consciousness, our energy system, is composed. We record every thought and feeling in one of our seven chakras and they become lodged there until they are released. As we evolve and live our lives it is important for us to give up old ideas to move forward and grow.

We have thousands of energy centers within us and around us, but I concentrate on the major seven ones, running from your spine all the way on top of your head. I am actually able to see them. Below you can find a brief description of the chakras, where they are located, function of it, etc. Namaste.


1. Root/Base Chakra (red)

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
Location: Base of spine, coccyx
Function: grounding energy center, keeping our feet on the ground and our mind focused on physical matters.
Physically: It is associated with our reproductive system and our sexual vitality.
Associated Colors: Red, brown, and black
Element: Earth



2. Chakra/Sacral Chakra (orange)

Sanskrit Name: Svadisthana
Location: below navel, lower abdomen
Function: sexuality and desires. Controls our relationships and social interactions with others.
Physically: Works on lower intestines and digestive system.
Element: Water



3. Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)

Sanskrit Name: Manipura
Location: Above the navel, stomach area
Function: Root of our emotional balance, personal power and metabolic energy. It is the chakra of the Will.
Physically: Works on the stomach and liver area

Element: Fire


4. Heart Chakra (green)

Sanskrit Name: Anahata
Location: Center of chest
Function: Love center, it controls our feelings, and thoughts, relationships and compassion. Green people are people pleasers, empaths.
Physically: responsible for the heart, circulatory, and respiratory system.
Element: Air


5. Throat Chakra (blue)

Sanskrit Name: Visuddha
Location: Throat region
Function: this chakra works on our throat, like communication verbally and written, logic, analyzing, but also staying true to yourself.
Physcially: Thymus and thyroid glands, throat and neck area
Element: Sound


6. Brow, or Third Eye Chakra (indigo)

Sanskrit Name: Anja
Location: Forehead, in between the eyes.
Function: Known as psychic energy center. It is the area that governs our senses. It is the link from which we perceive the higher zones and higher planes.
Element: Light


7. Crown Chakra (violet, purple)

Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
Location: Top of head
Function: Knowledge, information, understanding. This chakra is our spiritual gateway and higher self.
Physically: Responsible for our head and nervous system.
Element: Thought



Please reload

​©2019-2020 by Silvia Sisson